Community sector response to Federal Budget

13 May 2014

Joint community sector response to Budget: Doorstop

Who: ACOSS CEO Dr Cassandra Goldie and representatives from Australia’s Community Sector
When: 10.30am Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Where: Senate Courtyard, Parliament House, Canberra

Dr Cassandra Goldie will be joined by representatives from leading charities and community sector organisations to provide a comprehensive response to the Budget at a press conference in Canberra on Wednesday morning.

The groups will provide their reaction to any changes to essential services, programs and payments which impact on people living on low incomes and others who are vulnerable in our community.

Media Contact: Fernando de Freitas 0419 626 155

Participants to speak include:
• Craig Wallace, President, People with Disability Australia
• Matthew Wright, CEO, Australian Federation of Disability Organisations
• Ian Yates, Chief Executive, Council on The Aging (COTA)
• Emma Robertson, Director, Youth Coalition of the ACT
• Frank Quinlan, CEO, Mental Health Council of Australia
• Kasy Chambers, Executive Director, Anglicare Australia
• Terese Edwards, CEO, National Council of Single Mothers & their Children
• Gerard Thomas, spokesperson, National Welfare Rights Network
• Adrian Pisarski, Executive Officer, National Shelter
• Carol Croce, Executive Director, Community Housing Federation of Australia
• Dr John Falzon, CEO, St Vincent de Paul Society, National Council of Australia
• Steve Hackett, Executive Director, Family Relationships Services Australia
• Mary Mallett, CEO, Disability Advocacy Network Australia

Other participants include:
• Kelvin Alley (Major), National Secretary, The Salvation Army National Secretariat
• Stephanie Gotlib, Executive Officer, Children with Disability Australia
• David Pigott and Patrick Flynn, Mission Australia
• Therese Sands, Co-Chief Executive Officer, People with Disability Australia
• Eddy Bourke, Spokesperson, Community Housing Federation of Australia
• Susan Helyar, Director, ACT Council of Social Service